The TIM is an organized set of standards integrating the five levels of technology (entry, adoption, adaptation, infusion, and transformation) with the five interdependent characteristics of meaningful learning environments: active, constructive, goal directed, authentic, and collaborative. It defines clearly how teachers can use, transfer the skills and collaborate with students through technology to optimize learning in K-12. The result of this integration is a set of 25-cell standards defining clearly the behaviors/attitudes, awareness and levels of skills of both learners and teachers.

This matrix is so valuable as it helps educators and administrators plan self and professional development in technology that would enable them to make use of it inside their classrooms (or whatever teaching-learning venues). Being adept in technology use is a requirement nowadays. It is vital to prepare our students to be more engaged in technology and be more productive.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s